31st Jul 2017 | WGC Bridgestone Invitational

WGC Bridgestone Invitational Trends

Firestone GC

A high quality field converges on the WGC at Firestone. We look at the trends of past winners.

When it comes to Firestone Golf Club there used to be only one trend that mattered – Tiger Woods. Tiger has won eight of the sixteen World Golf Championship events held at Firestone.

At 7,400 yards, Firestone’s South Course is the longest par 70 on the PGA Tour but only the 11th most difficult of all courses on tour.

In the last seven years there have been seven different winners, enough to create some genuine trends. 2015 winner Shane Lowry has been replaced by runner-up Bubba Watson due to his lack of PGA Tour data in 2015.

Top-60 on tour for GIRs
Each of the last six winners ranked inside the top-60 on tour for GIRs. With fast greens, scrambling can be difficult if you miss the putting surface.

Top-60 for adjusted scoring average
The cream rises to the top at Firestone with recent winners all recognisable names. The likes of Keegan Bradley, Adam Scott, Hunter Mahan and Vijay Singh managed to intersperse Tiger’s dominance and all ranked inside the top-60 on tour for scoring average.

Top-60 for driving distance
At 7,400 yards Firestone is a long par-70. Length off the tee allows players to attack greens with more lofted clubs. Crucial if you want to stop the ball on lightening fast greens.

Top-60 for all-around ranking
A composition of driving, putting and GIR statistics that highlights the best golfers on tour. Each of the last five winners ranked inside the top-60 for this metric.

Top-60 for total driving
Distance off the tee is key but a reasonable degree of accuracy is also needed. Each of the last five winners ranked inside the top-20 for this metric.

Players that fit all five trends:
Adam Scott
Daniel Berger
Gary Woodland
Hideki Matsuyama
Jon Rahm
Rickie Fowler
Russell Henley
Sergio Garcia
Xander Schauffele

Xander Schauffele to win 125/1 with Bet365
Place Bet Now

Odds correct at time of publishing: 05:51 31st Jul, 2017 but subject to change